DPS Releases February Sobriety Checkpoint List

Article Body

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, Jan. 30, 2023 
CONTACT: Tony Mangan, Public Information Officer, 605-773-6196
                                                                  DPS Releases February Sobriety Checkpoint List
PIERRE, S.D. – South Dakota’s Department of Public Safety has announced that 18 sobriety checkpoints will be held during the month of February. 

Checkpoints are scheduled for 15 counties: Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Clay, Codington, Douglas, Fall River, Jackson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Lyman, Minnehaha, Pennington, Roberts, and Walworth. 

The monthly checkpoints are designed to encourage people to not drink and drive. The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.
Officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. People who have been drinking are urged to designate a sober driver or take an alternate form of commercial or public transportation.
Both the Office of Highway Safety and the Highway Patrol are agencies of the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.